Admission Helpline

Call Us: + 91 997 453 0111

Medical Licensing Exams

Home >  Medical Licensing Exams

What are medical licensing exams?

Medical Licensing Exams are standardized examinations that medical graduates must pass to become licensed practitioners in a specific country or region. These exams are designed to assess a candidate’s knowledge, skills, and abilities in medicine, ensuring they meet the required standards to practice safely and effectively. 

  • The National Exit Test (NExT) is an upcoming examination in India that is set to replace the Foreign Medical Graduates Examination (FMGE) and the Post Graduate Medical Entrance Examination (PG-MEE).
  • NExT aims to assess the knowledge and skills of medical graduates and postgraduates seeking licensure or pursuing further education in India. 
  • It will be a common exit examination for both undergraduate and postgraduate medical students, streamlining the assessment process for medical professionals in India.
  • The NExT is designed to ensure a standardized evaluation of medical graduates, contributing to the enhancement of the overall quality of medical education and practice in the country.

AMC CAT (Australian Medical Council, Computer Adaptive Test)

  • The AMC CAT is a computer-based test conducted by the Australian Medical Council (AMC) for international medical graduates seeking registration to practice medicine in Australia.
  • It assesses the medical knowledge and clinical skills of candidates to ensure they meet the required standards for medical practice in the country.
  • The AMC CAT consists of two parts: the Multiple-Choice Question (MCQ) component and the Clinical Component, evaluating practical skills and communication.
  • Successfully passing the AMC CAT is a crucial step for international medical graduates to obtain recognition and practice medicine in Australia.

MCCQE (Medical Council of Canada Qualifying Examination): Canada

  • The MCCQE is a series of exams conducted by the Medical Council of Canada to assess the readiness of medical graduates for independent medical practice in Canada.
  • It consists of two parts: Part I, which assesses medical knowledge and clinical decision-making, and Part II, the Objective Structured Clinical Examination (OSCE), which evaluates clinical skills and communication. 
  • Successful completion of the MCCQE is a prerequisite for obtaining the Licentiate of the Medical Council of Canada (LMCC), which is essential for practicing medicine in Canada. 
  • The MCCQE contributes to maintaining high standards of medical practice and ensuring the competence of physicians in the Canadian healthcare system.

PLAB (Professional and Linguistic Assessments Board): UK

  • PLAB is an assessment conducted by the General Medical Council (GMC) in the UK for international medical graduates to demonstrate their medical knowledge and language proficiency.
  • It consists of two parts: PLAB 1, a written multiple-choice examination assessing medical knowledge, and PLAB 2, an Objective Structured Clinical Examination (OSCE) evaluating clinical skills. 
  • Successful completion of both parts of the PLAB is a prerequisite for obtaining registration with a license to practice medicine in the UK. 
  • PLAB plays a crucial role in maintaining the high standards of medical practice and ensuring the competence of medical professionals in the UK.

TMS (Test for Medical Studies): Germany

  • The TMS is a standardized test in Germany designed to assess the aptitude and abilities of students applying for medical studies.
  • It includes subtests on cognitive abilities, scientific reasoning, and problem-solving skills.
  • While TMS is not a licensing exam per se, it is an essential component of the selection process for medical studies at German universities.
  • A high TMS score can enhance the chances of gaining admission to medical programs in Germany, contributing to maintaining the quality of medical education in the country.

The United States Medical Licensing Examination (USMLE): USA

  • The United States Medical Licensing Examination (USMLE) is a three-step examination for medical licensure in the United States and is sponsored by the Federation of State Medical Boards (FSMB) and the National Board of Medical Examiners (NBME).
  • It assesses a physician’s ability to apply knowledge, concepts, and principles and to demonstrate fundamental patient-centered skills that are important in health and disease and that constitute the basis of safe and effective patient care. 
  • Each of the three steps of the USMLE complements the others; no step can stand alone in the assessment of readiness for medical licensure. 
  • The USMLE is designed to measure a candidate’s competency in various areas, including basic medical sciences and clinical knowledge.
  • Successful completion of all three steps of the USMLE is required for any doctor seeking to practice medicine in the United States.
  • Passing these exams is essential for individuals seeking licensure.
  • It ensures that medical professionals meet rigorous educational standards.
  • The exams uphold global benchmarks for medical practice.
  • They contribute to the overall quality and reliability of medical care worldwide.

These exams are crucial for maintaining the quality of healthcare services, ensuring that all practicing physicians have met a standardized level of medical education and competency. 

At Saarthi MBBS, we are dedicated to guiding students on their journey to pursue medical courses both in India and abroad. Our expert counsellors provide personalized assistance in selecting the right country and university, navigating the admission process, visa application, post-admission support, and all the necessary information. Let Saarthi MBBS guide you every step of the way!